Best Practice - How to Handle Inactive Users in Windchill

Partner Channel / Windchill

If a user has stopped working at your company or is otherwise inactive in Windchill, and for some reason should not have any access to the system it is best practice not to delete them. It is instead recommended to remove all access for this user. However, if the user has not done anything in Windchill (other than viewed files), then deleting them is an option.

This guide presents how to remove a user from groups and teams

Share on Social Networks

Share Link

Use permanent link to share in social media

Share with a friend

Please login to send this presentation by email!

Embed in your website

Select page to start with

1. Best Practice How to Handle Inactive Users in Windchill Aug 2019

2. If a user has stopped working at your company or is otherwise inactive in Windchill, and for some reason should not have any access to the system it is best practice not to delete them. It is instead recommended to remove all access for this user. However, if the user has not done anything in Windchill (other than viewed fi les), then deleting them is an option. This guide presents how to remove a user from groups and teams

3. Step 1. Locate the user that should not have any access to the system 1.   Log in as Windchill administrator ( wcadmin or orgadmin ) 2.   Go to Organization > Utilities > Participant Administration 3.   Add the participant you wish to edit to the Participant Administration list

7. 1.   Expand the browser in Windchill and click on Recent Libraries 2.   Expand the product node and click on Team 3.   Check all nodes and remove the user as a member 4.   Repeat for all Libraries – remember to check under View All and make sure you have checked the teams for every Library

5. Step 3. Remove user from teams under Products and Libraries Check if the user is included in any teams in any contexts 1.   Expand the browser in Windchill and click on Products 2.   Expand the product node and click on Team 3.   Check all nodes and remove the user as a member 4.   Repeat for all Products – remember to check under View All and make sure you have checked the teams for every Product

4. Step 2. Edit the user to remove group access and pro fi les 1.   Go to the information page of the user 2.   Click Actions > Edit 3.   Go to the Assign to Groups segment and remove all groups listed there by selecting the group and clicking the subtraction icon 4.   Repeat the removal steps for any assigned pro fi les under Assign to Pro fi les

6. Step 3. Remove user from teams under Products and Libraries Check if the user is included in any teams in any contexts 1.   Expand the browser in Windchill and click on Recent Products 2.   Expand the product node and click on Team 3.   Check all nodes and remove the user as a member 4.   Repeat for all Products – remember to check under View All and make sure you have checked the teams for every Product

Views

  • 7 Total Views
  • 4 Website Views
  • 3 Embeded Views

Actions

  • 0 Social Shares
  • 0 Likes
  • 0 Dislikes
  • 0 Comments

Share count

  • 0 Facebook
  • 0 Twitter
  • 0 LinkedIn
  • 0 Google+